Friday, August 24, 2007

The Democratic Alliance for the Betterment and Progress of Hong Kong (DAB) (Traditional Chinese: 民主建港協進聯盟, or 民建聯 in short), formerly known as The Democratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong (民主建港聯盟) is the largest pro-Beijing political party in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China. Founded in 10 July 1992, the party has been headed by Malik since December 2003 until his death in August 2007.
A merger with the Hong Kong Progressive Alliance was announced on 16 February 2005. The two parties were merged with new leadership selected on 31 May 2005.

Party beliefs

Basic Law Government     Chief Executive        Donald Tsang     Chief Secretary for Administration        Henry Tang     Financial Secretary        John Tsang     Secretary for Justice        Wong Yan Lung     Executive Council        Leung Chun YingDemocratic Alliance for the Betterment of Hong Kong     Depts and related organisations Legislative Council     Rita Fan Elections Political parties     DAB        Ma Lik     Liberal Party        James Tien     Democratic Party        Albert Ho     Civic Party        Kuan Hsin-chi        Audrey Eu     League of Social Democrats        Raymond Wong Yuk Man Judiciary     Court of Final Appeal Districts District Councils Human rights Foreign relations
The party started with a single seat on the Legislative Council (LegCo). The 1995 LegCo elections increased the DAB's share to six seats. After 1997 when Hong Kong was transferred to the People's Republic of China (PRC), DAB enjoyed political favour from the PRC, and gained a number of seats in Legco through Functional Constituency election which was deemed unfair, and they remain unfavour in local district direct election. In 2000 it had ten councillors in Legco. The most recent Legislative Council election in 2004, it become the largest (by number) political party to be represented with 12 seats, with the Liberal Party coming second (10 seats), and the Democratic Party coming third (9 seats).
Twelve district councillors joined the party on its formation, a share that increased to 37 seats in the 1994 elections and 83 in 1999. In the wake of the controversies over the legislation of Article 23 of the Basic Law in 2003, the party's popularity dropped drastically and the November 2003 District Councils elections saw its seats drop to 62. The election results have led to the resignation of its former Chairman, Jasper Tsang Yok-sing. However, as Ma Lik is undergoing treatment for colon cancer, Tsang still effectively controls the DAB.
The DAB and its sister organisation HKFTU are well-known for their ability to mobilize their supporters, including employees of PRC state-owned companies, to vote for their candidates in elections. In the 2004 Legislative Council election, they managed to exploit the proportional representation electoral system to equalise votes for two of the candidates the party endorsed standing in the same constituency. Although support of Chan Yuen Han (DAB) was far higher than Chan Kam Lam (HKFTU), according to earlier polls, the two organisations managed to have both elected. At another constituency, the ticket of Malik and Choy So Yuk ultimately benefitted from a democratic camp mix-up that led to the resignation of the Democratic Party's leader, Yeung Sum.

On May 15, 2007, party leader Malik provoked nearly universal condemnation when he said that "there was not a massacre" during the Tiananmen Square protests of 1989, as there was "no intentional and indiscriminate shooting". He said this showed Hong Kong was "not mature enough" for believing foreigners' rash claims that a massacre took place. He said that Hong Kong showed through its lack of patriotism and national identity, that it would thus "not be ready for democracy until 2022". The DAB Central committee declined any further action against ma following their meeting, and there was no official apology. In May, Sze Lun Hung Had Replace Grace Au To District Council East Kowloon Vacant Pursuant.

"not a massacre"
As the biggest political party of Hong Kong, the 10-year-party can be divided into three main factions:
1. Unionists, i.e. members belonging or came from the Federation of Trade Unions. 2. Indigenous residents in the New Territories 3. Fujianese

List of chairmen

No comments: